Blues Guitar Forum - Rock, Country, Funk, etc

Guitars Talk => Recording Studio => : pictoratus November 03, 2010, 07:52:56 AM

: How do you record?
: pictoratus November 03, 2010, 07:52:56 AM
I was wondering how everyone here records their songs, guitar, etc.

I plug my guitar straight into the line input on my PC with a 1/4 to 1/8 adapter and use Ableton to record. For effects I use AmpliTube. Sometimes I use Riffworks instead of Ableton.

What's your setup?
: Re: How do you record?
: hillbilly joe old November 03, 2010, 08:24:41 AM
I use just Audacity and a 2 dollar skype microphone to record my music clips. Basic, but that is all I have. If I sing I use a  Taiwanese mic, name unknown.
: Re: How do you record?
: zagatron1 November 03, 2010, 05:02:17 PM
Hey HB, do you go straight into your pc, or do you use some kind of interface (like a USB)? I'm waiting on getting another PC (no more space), so I won't be doing any recording anytime soon.
: Re: How do you record?
: hagarfreak33 November 03, 2010, 08:53:18 PM
I use the  Line 6 version of  Gearbox/ http://www.sonomawireworks.com/products.php#riffworks
with Guitarport as the interface.
Then mix and edit all files with Audacity.
: Re: How do you record?
: hillbilly joe old November 08, 2010, 11:46:08 PM
Hey HB, do you go straight into your pc, or do you use some kind of interface (like a USB)? I'm waiting on getting another PC (no more space), so I won't be doing any recording anytime soon.

Hi Zag
I just use a mic going into the earphone plug on the computer that is it. And I use Audacity only.
What you hear on my music clips is just a $2 skype mic recording the sound off my amp and that mic runs right into the computer, very simple
: Re: How do you record?
: sven November 09, 2010, 08:42:24 PM
I have audacity and reaper.  Reaper is pretty cool for a free program.  But my PC is effed up and won't record my sounds.   I've been wanting to post me playing over some jam tracks for ever, but I just haven't gotten the thing fixed yet.
: Re: How do you record?
: robert November 09, 2010, 10:10:07 PM
I use an Apogee Duet interface when miking an amp, otherwise I use Line 6 Toneport with Pod Farm 2 software.

I use Logic for software, but I also recently acquired both Record and Reason.
: Re: How do you record?
: zagatron1 November 10, 2010, 02:46:38 PM
My computer is full and Audasity won't operate right now so it's time for a new machine. I'll probably nab one next month.
: Re: How do you record?
: hillbilly joe old November 17, 2010, 08:26:12 PM
My computer is full and Audasity won't operate right now so it's time for a new machine. I'll probably nab one next month.


hope so zag  :D
: Re: How do you record?
: zagatron1 November 22, 2010, 06:41:59 PM
Thanks HJ, me too. I just checked out CompUSA and they sell some "off lease" machines. I gonna nab a couple.
: Re: How do you record?
: Offshore Angler November 25, 2010, 05:42:05 AM
Thanks HJ, me too. I just checked out CompUSA and they sell some "off lease" machines. I gonna nab a couple.

Just remember, you can't consider yourself a real musician unless you use a Mac.   :)
: Re: How do you record?
: hagarfreak33 November 27, 2010, 08:24:56 PM
My computer is full and Audasity won't operate right now so it's time for a new machine. I'll probably nab one next month.
Audacity is freezing a lot on my pc too-is that because the hard drive is too full? i deleted it and downloaded an older version just to check but it does the same thing.my drive is 80 % full at least now.
: Re: How do you record?
: DetroitBlues December 02, 2010, 12:42:29 PM
I use Audacity for recording.  I either plug in my Blue Snowball USB mic or I use my pocketpod.
: Re: How do you record?
: weelie December 03, 2010, 03:38:14 AM
I use Reaper software. It's free to try, so I never bought it, I use the free version. Buying is only like $60, though. I did use Audacity before, but now I learned to use Reaper so don't use Audacity anymore. Opening a band practice mp3 of 250MB takes like 15 minutes on Audacity, and 10s on Reaper.

And I Have Zoom H4 that I use as the mic or preamp or whatever, that plugs via USB cable to my laptop.
: Re: How do you record?
: creekster52 December 28, 2010, 09:11:05 PM
Anyone here using Pro Tools?
: Re: How do you record?
: hillbilly joe old January 12, 2011, 06:46:21 PM
Thanks HJ, me too. I just checked out CompUSA and they sell some "off lease" machines. I gonna nab a couple.

Just remember, you can't consider yourself a real musician unless you use a Mac.   :)


or an NEC japanese computer  ;D