Want to learn jazz?

Have you seen my latest Blues Course - Slow 60 Blues?

Author Topic: computer question  (Read 4169 times)

hillbilly-joe

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 711
    • View Profile
computer question
« on: February 07, 2014, 06:20:33 PM »
I'm getting my wife's window 7 computer and yesterday she bought a new window 8 computer. What should I know about a win 7 computer. I have stuff on my win xp that I'd like to transfer to it, like amps and vst's and guitar pro and bunch of other stuff, how do I do that.

thanks guys

zagatron1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1522
    • View Profile
Re: computer question
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2014, 10:06:11 PM »
Which Windows version of 7 do you have? When I replaced my previous computer (that had XP Home), I got a refurbished (or as they say "off lease") computer from these guys - http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/category/category_tlc.asp?CatId=2628&cm_re=Desktops-_-Spot%2005-_-Refurbished

It came with Windows 7 Professional version. In order to do the transfer thing, you'll need one of these - http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=5367164&CatId=445
They're very tedious to use (at least to me), but that's what I used and I still had to manually move some things as well. It's the only thing I can think of to use HJ. Something to think about.

hillbilly-joe

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 711
    • View Profile
Re: computer question
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2014, 04:48:58 PM »
Which Windows version of 7 do you have? When I replaced my previous computer (that had XP Home), I got a refurbished (or as they say "off lease") computer from these guys - http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/category/category_tlc.asp?CatId=2628&cm_re=Desktops-_-Spot%2005-_-Refurbished

It came with Windows 7 Professional version. In order to do the transfer thing, you'll need one of these - http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=5367164&CatId=445
They're very tedious to use (at least to me), but that's what I used and I still had to manually move some things as well. It's the only thing I can think of to use HJ. Something to think about.

Thanks Zag, I think I have the win 7 home premium. I don't think it is the professional one though. I'll check the above out. Today I get the computer and she get hers today. The salesman is coming out to set it up, maybe I'll ask him how i can transfer, but the wife hates it when I ask questions for help to salespeople, why I just can't understand it. I'll keep ya informed.

Vladan

  • http://vladanmovies.blogspot.com
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 681
  • High on own Supply
    • View Profile
Re: computer question
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2014, 05:01:00 AM »
Because salesmen usually have no clue?

Win7 has built in transfer function, it's well explained at various places on the web

(http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=7349
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd446674(v=WS.10).aspx
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/transferring-files-settings-faq#1TC=windows-7),

but that's a long process, with doubtful outcome and I think it can not go beyond some windows settings and files. Re installations, I think you'll have to reinstall everything, which, IMO, is the only valid way to go. However, settings for those installed programs should be transferable.

However, these guys claim they can do it, but that's commercial software:
http://www.laplink.com/index.php/individuals/pcmover-for-windows-8/feature-overview

If you're just to transfer files, any flash memory, or external HD will do the job. That cable thingie zagatron recommended seam to be good option.

hillbilly-joe

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 711
    • View Profile
Re: computer question
« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2014, 07:45:51 PM »
Thanks Vladan. Right now I'll just use the flash USB thing to transfer some files and see how that works out. Not sure where they'll end up though. Do I make a new folder? then transfer.

Vladan

  • http://vladanmovies.blogspot.com
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 681
  • High on own Supply
    • View Profile
Re: computer question
« Reply #5 on: February 17, 2014, 08:32:35 AM »
If you paste multimedia files to My Docs, they will be there, but W7 will also show them in Libraries (Pictures, Videos, ...). Libraries are kind of virtual folders. They do not exist with files in them, but only kind of show media files sorted as per this and that.

hillbilly-joe

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 711
    • View Profile
Re: computer question
« Reply #6 on: February 20, 2014, 05:51:20 PM »
If you paste multimedia files to My Docs, they will be there, but W7 will also show them in Libraries (Pictures, Videos, ...). Libraries are kind of virtual folders. They do not exist with files in them, but only kind of show media files sorted as per this and that.

Wow, thanks so much.