Want to learn jazz?

Have you seen my latest Blues Course - Slow 60 Blues?

Author Topic: Line 6 HD 500 sounds awesome  (Read 17056 times)

robert

  • Guitar Guy
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1387
    • View Profile
Line 6 HD 500 sounds awesome
« on: December 16, 2010, 10:09:42 AM »
I just got a Line 6 HD500. Man, this thing is very cool. It has got it all. Modeling, stompboxes, 16 different amp, and you can combine 2 amps too. How cool!

I took mine to rehearsal last night, and it worked very well.

DetroitBlues

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1804
    • View Profile
Re: Line 6 HD 500 sounds awesome
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2010, 12:57:30 PM »
I've heard and read some great reviews on these pedals.  Its just they are too expensive for my beer budget...

zagatron1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1522
    • View Profile
Re: Line 6 HD 500 sounds awesome
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2010, 12:45:15 PM »
Hey Robert, is that baby an addition to your stable, or is it replacing (or replaced) another, or several?

robert

  • Guitar Guy
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1387
    • View Profile
Re: Line 6 HD 500 sounds awesome
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2010, 02:15:24 PM »
It's a new addition!  :D

I have been using the M9 but this one might replace the M9. I'll still keep the M9 though because it's great for certain applications - like a collection of stompboxes for an open night jam or something. No programming needed.

JoeC

  • Guest
Re: Line 6 HD 500 sounds awesome
« Reply #4 on: December 22, 2010, 04:01:38 PM »
Are you playing the HD500 thru an amp or PA?  Have you tried both ways?  If so, which do you prefer?  Thanks! 

DetroitBlues

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1804
    • View Profile
Re: Line 6 HD 500 sounds awesome
« Reply #5 on: December 22, 2010, 04:12:46 PM »
It's a new addition!  :D

I have been using the M9 but this one might replace the M9. I'll still keep the M9 though because it's great for certain applications - like a collection of stompboxes for an open night jam or something. No programming needed.

Can you do a demo video of how you'd chose either the M9 or the HD500 for different applications?

robert

  • Guitar Guy
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1387
    • View Profile
Re: Line 6 HD 500 sounds awesome
« Reply #6 on: December 22, 2010, 05:07:57 PM »
Not sure how to do a video about that, but the 2 units have the same effects. The practical difference is that the HD500 has 16 amp models that you can use into a clean sounding amp. It also has user preset saving functionality, so you can have your settings saved and bring them up any time. The M9 doesn't have a preset saving ability the same way - if you tweak your settings, it's instantly saved as soon as you turn the knobs. That can be good AND bad, depending on your situation. It's really a huge collection of stompboxes, whereas the HD500 is a much more advanced solution.

For example, if you have a 3 effects on the M9 and you like the volumes and parameters. At a gig you decide to increase one or several parameters of the effects, perhaps because you suddenly couldn't hear enough of the delay. If you, in this case, bring up the delay in volume, the previously stored volume setting is instantly gone. You can't revert back. I sometimes get bothered by this, if I use different amps between gigs or rehearsals. I have to readjust my settings at sound check to make sure it's all good. On the HD500, I could save each change as its own preset and just choose the one that suits me best for this particular situations (usually has to do with the amp, or the room).

Makes sense?

It's a new addition!  :D

I have been using the M9 but this one might replace the M9. I'll still keep the M9 though because it's great for certain applications - like a collection of stompboxes for an open night jam or something. No programming needed.

Can you do a demo video of how you'd chose either the M9 or the HD500 for different applications?
« Last Edit: December 22, 2010, 05:12:17 PM by robert »

zagatron1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1522
    • View Profile
Re: Line 6 HD 500 sounds awesome
« Reply #7 on: May 15, 2011, 07:36:52 PM »
I have the Line 6 HD 300 on the way.

robert

  • Guitar Guy
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1387
    • View Profile
Re: Line 6 HD 500 sounds awesome
« Reply #8 on: May 15, 2011, 08:23:33 PM »
I have the Line 6 HD 300 on the way.

Congrats! You will have a lot of fun with dat.

zagatron1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1522
    • View Profile
Re: Line 6 HD 500 sounds awesome
« Reply #9 on: May 15, 2011, 11:20:45 PM »
Lookin' foward to it! As a matter of fact.... when you DO have it hooked up, do you (depending on the amp) have your EQ/ Tone stack set to a "flat" setting? I would think it would differ somewhat when using say.... An SS amp versus a tube amp and all that good stuff. I'm sure I'll find out what works for me, but I was just wondering.

robert

  • Guitar Guy
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1387
    • View Profile
Re: Line 6 HD 500 sounds awesome
« Reply #10 on: May 16, 2011, 09:26:15 PM »
The HD500/400/300 work like the real amps. The eq functionality is modeled after the real amps, so you dial it in just the same way as you would on the "real" amp.

zagatron1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1522
    • View Profile
Re: Line 6 HD 500 sounds awesome
« Reply #11 on: May 17, 2011, 11:39:34 AM »
The HD500/400/300 work like the real amps. The eq functionality is modeled after the real amps, so you dial it in just the same way as you would on the "real" amp.

I'm aware of that part, but I was referring to the settings on whatever amp you use in conjunction WITH the Line 6 HD (in my case 300) since it has it's own tone controls (ie drive, bass, mid, treble, etc.). Well.... I'll have a chance to play with it soon anyway. It should be here tomorrow and since it's been raining all week, I'll have plenty to do.

robert

  • Guitar Guy
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1387
    • View Profile
Re: Line 6 HD 500 sounds awesome
« Reply #12 on: May 17, 2011, 11:56:41 AM »
I don't use the HD unit with amps... I plug it straight into my computer.

You can of course run it through an amp, but then it gets more complicated, because the HD unit emulates preamp, power amp and speaker cab. You can change this in the unit, but it's a bit more involved... See this video www.youtube.com/watch?v=RmIbByDizyM

It sounds best if you set it up that way.

Or you can just use it AS an M9/M13 - just the pedal effects if you wish. Up to you.
« Last Edit: May 17, 2011, 01:55:36 PM by robert »

zagatron1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1522
    • View Profile
Re: Line 6 HD 500 sounds awesome
« Reply #13 on: May 17, 2011, 12:30:18 PM »
Cool! Thanks, just what I've been looking for.

DetroitBlues

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1804
    • View Profile
Re: Line 6 HD 500 sounds awesome
« Reply #14 on: June 08, 2011, 08:07:37 AM »
They just added a M5 now as well.  It looks almost like a double pedal stomp box, but packs many of the features of the M9.