Want to learn jazz?

Have you seen my latest Blues Course - Slow 60 Blues?

Author Topic: Fizzy Tones  (Read 7396 times)

Memory Lane Jr

• New Dolphinstreet Member!
    • View Profile
Fizzy Tones
« on: November 10, 2011, 07:30:22 PM »
I have noticed how awesome the sound is with Robert's videos using the Line6 HD 500 my question is I have a Line6 Guitar port using Gearbox but I can't seem to get rid of the fizzy tones, what gives, does the HD 500 overcome this problem? I realize the HD 500 is more expensive so is it a case of get what you pay for or am I doing something wrong.   ???

reb

• View Profile
Re: Fizzy Tones
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2011, 08:32:34 PM »
i am not an electronics engineer, but i'll show my complete ignorance anyway...

fizzy could be dirty contact somwhere, loose track on the pc board, loose solder joint on the pc board, failing ic or resistor, cable not shielded, something somewhere in the sound chain not shielded...

it could be a damaged speaker in the playback chain...i mean???

could you maybe borrow some other input device to run into and see if the fizzy stops? the first step in this kind of stuff-i bet you know this, from your background-is to isolate the offending unit. it's just like finding a short in wiring....it's a p.i.t.a., but it's sometimes necessary.

i had a regular signal chain; at one point, i bought a cheap wireless system...there were so dang many cords on the stage, you could fall, and disappear. i plugged the new wireless in, and played through it at home. when i got to the rehearsal, i plugged it in and wailed away. until i went around to the front of my amp and got 'on axis' with the treble, i could not hear the fizz...but when i heard it i went 'man, that's ugly!'.

back home, i tried it again...it's not as bad (stage stuff was all old electrics, except for a few instruments in use), but it's still there. the digital conversion to analog is the culprit, i think. i went back to cords.

DetroitBlues